Valentine’s Day Vortex

This last weekend was Valentine’s Day weekend.  My wife and I did very little.  Like many people, I don’t really understand the purpose of Valentine’s Day.  I try to show my love for my wife more frequently than just 1 day out of the year.  She has a good idea on how much she means to me, although certainly I can do a much better job at expressing it.  I’m naturally an introverted person, so I find it difficult to express my emotions to people, even people that are close to me.

I’m significantly better at it than I was even 5 years ago and I’m light years ahead of where I was 25 years ago in school, when I rarely said a word during class and shivered at the thought of a girl even speaking to me.  That brings me back to one time that a girl, Mary Jo Seidel (I think that’s was her last name) asked me why I was so quiet.  I panicked and froze.  To this day, I have no idea why I did that.  It was such a simple question, yet I acted like my world came crashing down.  It was such a silly reaction.  I’m glad I no longer react like that.  But, even though I’m no longer that bad, I’ve still got a long ways to go to get over myself (which is what my ever forgiving and observant wife tells me is my problem).

It’s those comments by my wife that make me appreciate her not just on Valentine’s Day but every day.  She has the ability to call me out when I exhibit irrational behavior.  I’ve learned a lot from her over the past 7 years that I’ve known her and I will probably learn a lot more in the rest of our lifetimes that we spend together.  So, even though we may not celebrate lavishly on Valentine’s Day (heck, we just ordered out for pizza), I’d like to think that we celebrate our love for one another every day by just how we treat and learn from one another.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

