My struggle to finish projects and Wallpaper Weekend

Our home is the land of unfinished projects.  I’ve started several projects around the house, most are small, but some are bigger, like the hallway (I think we’ve been removing the wallpaper from it for about 2 months now).  There’s also a pretty large project looming in the basement at the end of next month, which I need to begin planning.

Some of the smaller projects I started last summer shortly after we moved in, and ran into some snags, so I never finished, and just haven’t ever gotten back to.  There’s the outlet in the bedroom (we swapped out the outlet, and it required replacing the junction box with a larger one and we had to bust some of the drywall to get it in, so there’s a hole there), there’s the motion detector on top of the garage, which has a hole next to it which needs to be filled with foam to prevent other things from getting in, the ceiling fan switch in the family room which still doesn’t work, the sink in the downstairs bathroom which needs to be fixed, the basement floor which needs to be scrubbed, so we can put down the exercise mat floor, the caulking in the main bathroom tub that needs to be redone, and the master bathroom shower which needs to be redone.

Even though I have those projects still left to finish, my highest priority should be to finish that wallpaper in the hallway.  We have about 5 weeks until the in-laws come into town to help do the basement project, so I think I have about 2 weeks to finish the hallway, which will leave about 3 weeks to plan out the basement project and get all the necessary supplies, so we can be ready to go when they arrive.  In order to do that, it’s absolutely critical to finish, at minimum, removing all the wallpaper this weekend and sanding it down so  we can paint it the next weekend.  Time to get it done!  Wish me luck!  I’ll let you know how I did next week.

 

Leave a Reply

